Rules/Refereeing

Foot-faults in squash are unique for a number of reasons, not the least of which is the simple fact that no part of the foot can be touching the line of the service box when serving. That is not true of sports like tennis where stepping on the line (as long as not all the way across it) is considered to be okay. In squash, the requirement is that at least "part" of the foot must be within the area of the service box without touching the service box line. Given that the lines are "out" in squash, this does in fact make sense. The best strategy is to either warn the player the first time or call them early.

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I broke my racquet and after changing it, I wanted to hit the ball a few times to get a feel for it—but my opponent  refused and insisted we play on immediately— claiming that the rules state that “play must be continuous”. Is that true and does it apply to […]

Hey Ref! October 2014 Laura Massaro

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q & A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I was reading the new 2014 rules and was having a tough time figuring out the difference between ‘excessive’ and ‘exaggerated’ swings. Help!? Welcome to the club. Most rules deal with the assumption that a player’s swing is reasonable—meaning that it does “not extend more than is necessary” for the […]

Local Call Top Back Wall Out

Local Call: Top Back Wall Out

With the continued introduction of glass back courts has come some confusion about the ‘out line’ across the top of the glass. In a step to clarify this ruling it can be confirmed that the ball is called out if it hits the top edge of the back wall. Players should imagine that the top […]

James Willstrop Let

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! After I’d won a long rally, my opponent asked the Referee: “Were all balls good?” The ref hesitated for a moment and said that he wasn’t sure about one return early on that was near the tin—and ordered a let be played. It occurred to me that this kind of ‘shotgun’ approach to appeals could […]

Local Call April 2014

Local Call: Prescription to Safety

Are you a squash player who wears prescription glasses while playing squash? Are prescription glasses your substitute for wearing protective eyewear? Please be aware that you should still be wearing ASTM-F803 approved eyewear over the top of your prescription glasses. All players and coaches must wear protective eyewear during all activities that take place on […]

Julian Illingsworth Rules

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q & A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I was getting out of trouble in the front left corner with a high lob right over myself. My opponent called ‘Let’ as the ball was fourteen or fifteen feet high—so naturally, I stopped clearing—yet the ref awarded a stroke. That doesn’t seem right? The concept of ‘timing’ has a […]

Local Call

Local Call: Stay on Court!

Have you ever stepped off court to argue a call with the officials? Or decided that what you thought was your lucky racquet is no longer your lucky racquet—so you open the door to go grab a new one? For those of you who are guilty of this, please remember that a player can only leave the court with the permission of the referee. Should […]

After playing the ball short, in response to a poor shot by Germany's Simon Rössner, India's Saurav Ghosal is still obligated to clear a path to the ball. The fact that Rössner's previous poor shot helped establish the interference, that is irrelevant when determining whether a let is warranted.

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q & A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I made a good drop shot (admittedly not a winner) from the T because my opponent’s previous poor shot set me up there—and then my opponent came up against me while heading directly to the ball. Maybe she could have got the shot, but I figure it was her problem […]

Local Call

Local Call: Secure Your Stuff

Let’s take this time to clarify a common misconception in the game at all levels. Many players aren’t aware that if they drop an accessory—their eyewear or anything other than their racquet—that they automatically lose that point. The only exception would be if it was after interference with their opponent that forced the object to […]