Rules/Refereeing

power-05bm37571

Hey Ref: December 2016

by Barry Faguy HEY REF Don’t you guys have a sense of humor? Oh yeah. A few years ago, Anthony Hill is stopped in mid-play by a ref’s call of “not up.” He argues that the ball was indeed good—but the ref nonetheless says: “Play squash, Mr. Hill.” Hill answers back: “That’s what I was […]

15US14276(1)

Hey Ref! An Official Q&A

By Barry Faguy Having originally dealt with all the key principles of decision making in treatise form, we carry on the explanations by zeroing in on questions we’re received over the years. HEY REF When interference situations come up, I’ve often heard justifications of the decision using the words “every effort”—but what does that really […]

15US18248(1)

Hey Ref: An “Official” Q & A

by Barry Faguy HEY REF! Sometimes I get stuck reffing a match with seemingly endless calls. Is there any way to cut down those numbers? That’s a very topical question, and this longer-than-average answer is far too short. Indeed, for the past few years, the professional organizations have been urging Referees to make decisions that […]

/provisions on the "interrupted winning returns" rule exist for such things as boasts, distractions and falling objects.

Hey Ref! An ‘Official” Q&A

By Barry Faguy Having originally dealt with all the key principles of decision making in treatise form, we carry on the explanations by zeroing in on questions we’ve received over the years.  HEY REF! My opponent slipped and fell and lost her racket in the right front as she made a drop shot there. Just as […]

hey ref

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! What does ‘playing through’ mean? You’ve no doubt heard the old saying: “You can’t have your cake and eat it too.” Well, with ‘playing through,’ the ‘cake’ is the striker’s right to call a let when encountering interference—and the ‘eat it too’ refers to delaying the call until some time […]

While it may seem to put a heavy burden on the non-striker, the rules permit the striker to delay their shot as long as they like—and for the non-striker to make every effort to clear. So if the striker opts to hold their shot, even though they could have played it earlier, the non-striker could easily cough up a stroke if they aren’t ultimately out of the way.

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! It really gets on my nerves when I have an opponent who takes too long between rallies, either to serve, or to receive serve—especially if they obviously need to catch their breath. I’ve only been told by players that, unlike for tennis, squash does not specify the allowable time to […]

When it comes to receiving serve, there are no rules requiring you to stand in particular place, and there most certainly is no restriction to where you must be when you actually hit the return. Though rare, players have been known to use the side wall to launch themselves into the air for an overhead volley. Just keep in mind that you cannot stand in a spot that would create interference with the server---that would result in a stroke against you.

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! Can I stand wherever I want to receive the serve? Sure. There are no rules mandating a particular place for the receiver to receive serve. However, common sense would suggest that you’d be better off standing in roughly the center area of the quarter-court where the ball will be served […]

When Alister Walker fell to the floor in a heap, and Gregory Gaultier opted to step forward to play the ball regardless, Gaultier would not then be able to request a let if he played the ball and hit the tin or hit it out. Because he opted to play the ball, Gaultier, in essence, accepted the interference

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I’m now pretty confused hearing different refs calling all kinds of things like “Down”, “Carry”, “Not up”, “Scoop”, “Double, etc—for all kinds of different things, and sometimes for the same things. What’s up with all that? Unfortunately we hear all kinds of things blurted out. Let’s clarify some squash lingo, […]

When it comes to requesting a let by an other means than verbalization, the challenge is determining the precise moment when that request was made. Looking at the situation above, if you imagine the ball continuing to move, and the player to the left also moving toward the center, you can easily envision a moment when a "stroke" would be the decision. But looking at this picture as it is, a "let" seems to be appropriate. The problem is many players simply stop or make a hand gesture rather than actually speaking the words, "Let please." By saying the words, we know exactly when the request is being made.

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

HEY REF! I’ve noticed that in so many cases, there is no audible appeal when a player is asking for a let. I thought the rules required us to actually say “Let”. If not, do referees have to just guess? This question will help us explain the more precise use of terminology adopted with the […]