Barry Faguy

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! It really gets on my nerves when I have an opponent who takes too long between rallies, either to serve, or to receive serve—especially if they obviously need to catch their breath. I’ve only been told by players that, unlike for tennis, squash does not specify the allowable time to […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! Can I stand wherever I want to receive the serve? Sure. There are no rules mandating a particular place for the receiver to receive serve. However, common sense would suggest that you’d be better off standing in roughly the center area of the quarter-court where the ball will be served […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

HEY REF! I’ve noticed that in so many cases, there is no audible appeal when a player is asking for a let. I thought the rules required us to actually say “Let”. If not, do referees have to just guess? This question will help us explain the more precise use of terminology adopted with the […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I broke my racquet and after changing it, I wanted to hit the ball a few times to get a feel for it—but my opponent  refused and insisted we play on immediately— claiming that the rules state that “play must be continuous”. Is that true and does it apply to […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q & A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I was reading the new 2014 rules and was having a tough time figuring out the difference between ‘excessive’ and ‘exaggerated’ swings. Help!? Welcome to the club. Most rules deal with the assumption that a player’s swing is reasonable—meaning that it does “not extend more than is necessary” for the […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! After I’d won a long rally, my opponent asked the Referee: “Were all balls good?” The ref hesitated for a moment and said that he wasn’t sure about one return early on that was near the tin—and ordered a let be played. It occurred to me that this kind of ‘shotgun’ approach to appeals could […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q & A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I was getting out of trouble in the front left corner with a high lob right over myself. My opponent called ‘Let’ as the ball was fourteen or fifteen feet high—so naturally, I stopped clearing—yet the ref awarded a stroke. That doesn’t seem right? The concept of ‘timing’ has a […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q & A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I made a good drop shot (admittedly not a winner) from the T because my opponent’s previous poor shot set me up there—and then my opponent came up against me while heading directly to the ball. Maybe she could have got the shot, but I figure it was her problem […]

Hey Ref! An ‘Official’ Q&A

By Barry Faguy HEY REF! I heard that there are new rules as of January 2014. Is that true—and will that cause any changes to the way we play? It’s not so much new rules as it is new wording, though a few minor changes to some provisions were made. The rewording itself is an attempt to clarify […]