Local Call: Sick Note

vomit-rule-final-2

An often-misunderstood rule is what happens when someone vomits in the middle of a match. In the event of an illness during play, the sick player concedes that game and takes the ninety-second interval between games to recover. This is applicable if the player conceding the game hadn’t already lost two games, since otherwise the match would then be over. Only one game is conceded before play resumes. However, if the sick player is unable to make it off court and does in fact vomit on the court—therefore making it temporarily unplayable—then the match is awarded to the opponent.

Comments Are Closed